39th Annual General Body Meeting

The 39th Annual General Body Meeting of the Society of Geoscientists and Allied Technologists was held at 06.00 p.m. on 21st December 2019 at SGAT Conference Hall, Bhubaneswar. At the outset one-minute silence was observed to pay homage to the departed souls of Prof S Acharya, Prof N K Mahalik and Dr B P Das, who left for heavenly award on 22nd February 2019, 1st August 2019 and 13th September 2019 respectively. It was followed by welcome address by Shri G S Khuntia, Vice-President. The minutes of the 38th AGB meeting was approved by the house. Sri A B Panigrahi, General Secretary presented the annual report and Shri J R Patnaik, Treasurer presented the audited annual account for 2018-19. The K S Mohapatra Memorial Lecture on “Metallurgical processing of Indian fly ash for its complete utilization” was delivered by Prof S Basu, Director, CSIR-IMMT, Bhubaneswar. The SGAT Awards for 2019, namely, SGAT Lifetime Achievement Award, SGAT Award of Excellence, Sitaram Rungta Memorial Award, H H Read Memorial Gold Award, B C Patnaik Memorial Gold Medal Award and Best Paper Award were conferred on Dr S K Tamotia, Dr N V Chalapathi Rao, Dr Alok Tripathy, Dr Sohini Ganguly, Dr Arkopovo Biswas and Dr Kirti Ranjan Mallick respectively. The election results for the members of the Executive Council for the term 2019-21 were declared by the President, Dr S K Tamotia. Prof O N Mohanty, the newly elected President of SGAT addressed the gathering and thanked the members for reposing faith on him for the next term. The meeting ended with vote of thanks by Shri T Mohanta, Joint Secretary.