SGAT has two types of membership, namely Life Member and Institutional Member.

A person holding post graduate degree or equivalent diploma in Geoscience/ Degree or equivalent diploma in Mining/ Metallurgy/ Ore dressing/ Mineral technology/ Petroleum engineering/ Environmental Science Engineering from a recognised University or Institution/ First Class Mine Managership Certificate or Degree in any branch of Geoscience with minimum 5 years of professional experience or  Second Class Mines Managers Certificate of Competency with 5 years of professional experience will be eligible for Life Membership of the Society.

Local governments, Owners of mines, Mineral processing plants and Mineral based industries; R&D Institutions, Commercial firms & Corporate bodies, Societies and Institutions associated with geoscientific and mineral development activities are eligible for Institutional Membership.

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, a person who holds position of professional responsibility or has made notable contribution to geoscientific activities and research and mineral development may at the discretion of the Council be elected as Member.

The Society, as on 8th December 2023, had 904 Life Members representing disciplines of Geology, Geophysics, Mining engineering, Metallurgy/ Environmental Science, Mineral Process engineering among others drawn from organizations like Geological Survey of India, Indian Bureau of Mines, Ministry of Mines, Ministry of Environment & Forests, Neelachal Ispat Nigam, Dastur & Co, Geomin, Central Mine Planning Design Institute, Mahanadi Coalfields, Tata Steel, IMMT, Bhubaneswar; Steel Authority of India, Tata Refractories, Indian Rare Earths, State Directorates of Mining & Geology, Directorate of Mines Safety, National Aluminium Company, National Institute of Small Mines, Orissa Mining Corporation, National Mineral Development Corporation, Hindalco, Vedanta Aluminium, IPICOL, IDC of Orissa limited, Mackey & Schnellmann Pvt. Ltd. (Western Australia), Australian Kimberley Diamonds N.L. CGCRI, Enviro-Geo-Tech (Australia), Empire Gold Mines (Australia), CMRI, De Beers, CGWB, Oil India, MMTC, BSMDC, Rastriya Ispat Nigam, Balasore Alloys, Ispat Karmet, Orissa State Pollution Control Board, Gujarat Heavy Chemicals Ltd, Misrilall Mines, IEMJ, VBC Industries, NML, Agarwal Graphite Industries, Jaipur Magmatics, Almora Magnesite, Patnaik Minerals, M/s M.G Mohanty, Rungta Mines, Essel Mining & Industries, OMDC, RTMDC, Ferro Alloys Corporation, OCL India, Orissa Industries, Larsen & Toubro, Orissa Sponge Iron, Premier educational Institutions like Indian Institution of Technology, NIT, ISM University, Geology Departments of Utkal, Smbalpur, Baerhampur and Andhra Universities among others. Besides, there are a few members from USA, Brazil, Australia, Kazakhstan and Canada as well.

The Society has seven institutional members.


SGAT Life Member Directory

SGAT Institutional Member Directory